skip navigation

Super 32 HS: 6 NY Wrestlers Advance to Quarterfinals

By BV, 10/28/17, 7:00PM EDT


Busiello Looks for a Three-Peat


Six New York wrestlers advanced to the quarterfinals after the first day of action at the Super 32 in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Adam Busiello (Eastport-South Manor) looks for his third straight high school title at this event, this time at 120 pounds. He will face Christian Nunez of California next.  

Two-time state champ Greg Diakomihalis (Hilton) was a runner up at the Super 32 last year.  He's looking for another appearance in the finals (at 113 pounds) after picking up four victories on Saturday.

State champions Anthony Noto (HFL, 106) and Dylan Ryder (Half Hollow Hills West, 113) also went unbeaten on the first day of the competition to make the round of 8.  

Jake Silverstein (Hauppauge, 145) and Matt Grippi (Fox Lane, 152) have both earned silver at the state tournament twice. Both will compete in the quarters on Sunday in the middleweights.

Also still in the mix in the consolation bracket are Grant Cuomo (Brewster, 170), Jake Logan (New Rochelle, 182), Johnny Santos (Fox Lane, 195), Joseph Yanis (Minisink Valley, 195), Maguire Horl (St. Anthony's, 285) and Troy Spratley (106).


The Super 32 will take place this weekend in North Carolina with loaded brackets and top talent from across the nation.

Adam Busiello won high school titles at the event the past two years (and captured middle school crowns previously), while Greg Diakomihalis was a finalist in 2016.

Busiello (Eastport-South Manor) and Diakomihalis (Hilton) are two of the NYS champions registered at the high school level, along with Anthony Noto (HF-L), Dylan Ryder (Half Hollow Hills West), Justin Vines (Wantagh) and Hunter Shaut (Central Valley).

State finalists Jake Silverstein (Hauppauge), Matt Grippi (Fox Lane), Grant Cuomo (Brewster), Justin McDougald (Niagara Wheatfield), Luke Bokina (Mattituck), Jack Bokina (Mattituck) and Terry Adams (Monsignor Farrell) are also expected to take the mat.

A number of girls standouts will compete as well, including 2017 Fargo All-Americans Mia Macaluso (Minisink Valley), Sariah Stewart (Columbia), Grace Pauls (Minisink Valley), Katie Moore (Riverhead), Hailey Cancelleri (Curtis) and Nia Crosdale (Harry S Truman).

For the full list of New York wrestlers signed up, as of Wednesday morning, read on below.



Anthony Noto (HF-L) - State Champion

Terry Adams (Monsignor Farrell) - State Finalist

Ivan Garcia (Port Chester) - State Placer

Josiah Encarnacion (Wantagh) - State Placer

Justin Amendola (Rocky Point)

Jacob Chenier (Kingston)

Dylan Decker (BGAH)

Jake Eckerle (Commack)

Jake Hoffmann (Fox Lane)

Chandler Merwin (Walton-Delhi)

Matthew Schreiber (Horace Greeley)

Troy Spratley (BGA)



Greg Diakomihalis (Hilton) - State Champion

Dylan Ryder (Half Hollow Hills West) - State Champion

Zachary Redding (Eastport-South Manor) - State Placer

Drew Schafer (Wayne) - State Placer

Lachlan McNeil (Hilton) - Cadet World Team Member (Canada)

Gavin Damasco (Commack)

Christian Gannone (Eastport-South Manor)

Tyler Joseph (Harrison)

Logan Sciotto (Rocky Point)



Adam Busiello (Eastport-South Manor) - State Champion

Anthony Sciotto (Rocky Point) - State Placer

Aidan Cullen (Greenville)

Preston Maucere (St. Anthony's)

David Traub (Tottenville)

Michael Waxman (Commack)



Justin McDougald (Niagara Wheatfield) - State Finalist

Nickolas Karamoshos (Massapequa)

Vin Miceli (Port Jefferson)

James Ryan (Monsignor Farrell)



Justin Vines (Wantagh) - State Champion

Luke Bokina (Mattituck) - State Finalist

Alex Samson (Victor) - State Placer

Kyle Althenn (Mepham)

Nicholas Calderone (Newfield)

Frank Fea (Goshen)

Eric Kachan (Wagner)

Kristopher Ketchum (Rocky Point)

Brice O'Hara (Sachem East)



Patrik Leder (St. Francis Xavier)

Rafael Lievano (Ward Melville)

Ramon Perez (Monsignor Farrell)

Nathan Ross (Onteora)



Jake Silverstein (Hauppauge) - State Finalist

Jack Bokina (Mattituck) - State Finalist

Jack Chesman (Pearl River) - State Placer

Warren McDougald (Niagara Wheatfield) - State Placer

Justin Crawford (St. Anthony's)

Matt Kline (Corning)

Chase Runfola (Letchworth)

Seth Schulman (Scarsdale)

Jackson Wrobel (Pawling)



Hunter Shaut (Central Valley) - State Champion

Matt Grippi (Fox Lane) - State Finalist

Dempsey Carroll (Copenhagen)

Corey Connolly (Rocky Point)

Ian Houck (Rondout Valley)

Kyler Martin (Indian River)

John Carl Petretti (Shoreham-Wading River)

Jack Ward (Locust Valley)



Chris Barker (Fairport) - State Placer

Shaun Burgos (Pine Bush)

Ethen Eldred (Sherburne-Earlville)

Michael Lind (Indian River)

Aaron Wolk (Horace Greeley)



Grant Cuomo (Brewster) - State Finalist

Dillon Ross (Onteora)

Trent Wechsler (Mamaroneck)



Jake Logan (New Rochelle) - State Placer

Sammy DePrez (Hilton)

Jacob Ferreira (Horace Greeley)



Johnny Santos (Fox Lane)

Joseph Yanis (Minisink Valley)



Antonio Cutrie (Wyoming Seminary)

Maguire Horl (St. Anthony's)



Abby Duke (Carmel)

Ashly Gomez (Sunset Park)



Sofia Macaluso (Minisink Valley)



Zoe Gress (Hoosick Falls)



Caity Richardson (Columbia)



Mia Macaluso (Minisink Valley)

Grace Pauls (Minisink Valley)

Chloe Cabrera (Truman)



Katherine Diaz (Oyster Bay)



Joye Levendusky (Avon)

Elizaveta Vedernikova (Edward R Murrow) 

Sariah Stewart (Columbia)



Hailey Cancelleri (Curtis)

Katie Moore (Riverhead)



Nia Crosdale (Truman)