skip navigation
Grappler Gold

Dean, Koll Earn Top Ivy League Honors

By BV, 03/14/17, 4:45PM EDT


Realbuto, Womack, Baughman Also Named to 1st Team

For the second time in his career, Gabe Dean has been named Ivy League Wrestler of the Year. For the third straight season, Rob Koll is the Ivy League Coach of the Year. For the 15th straight season, Cornell wrestling is your Ivy League champions. The first two statements have a lot to do with the third.

Dean headlined four unanimous first-team All-Ivy League selections on the first team and eight honored overall when the teams were announced on Tuesday afternoon. The teams were voted on by the league's six head coaches. He was joined by fellow senior Brian Realbuto (174 pounds) as four-time first-team picks, while sophomore Brandon Womack (165 pounds) and freshman Noah Baughman (125 pounds) were first-time choices. Sophomore Jonathan Furnas(149 pounds) garnered second team accolades and senior Taylor Simaz (157 pounds), sophomore Ben Honis (197 pounds) and senior Craig Scott (285 pounds) took home honorable mention honors.

Dean, a four-time EIWA champion, three-time NCAA All-American and two-time defending national champion at 184 pounds, was chosen as Wrestler of the Year unanimously after closing out his career with a perfect 17-0 record in four seasons in Ivy League duals. A leading candidate for the Hodge Trophy as the nation's top collegiate wrestler, Dean is a perfect 31-0 heading into this weekend's NCAA Championships with 20 of those wins coming by fall. He has posted a 148-6 record with 99 bonus point wins and enters the tournament with a 41-match win streak. He was also Ivy League Wrestler of the Year in 2015 and was Ivy League and EIWA Rookie of the Year in 2014. Dean is a four-time first-team All-Ivy League selection and became just the 11th wrestler in EIWA history to claim four straight titles. Earlier in the year, Dean became the third four-time Southern Scuffle champion and the sixth three-time Las Vegas Invitational champion.

Realbuto joins Dean as the seventh and eighth Cornellians to capture first-team All-Ivy honors all four seasons. The nation's second-ranked wrestler at 174 pounds, Realbuto enters NCAAs 23-1 after winning his third straight EIWA title. A two-time All-American and the 2015 NCAA runner-up at 157 pounds, Realbuto has a 115-17 career record and was a perfect 18-0 in four seasons in Ivy League duals.

Womack won his first EIWA title as part of a 31-8 season, qualifying for his first NCAA appearance along the way. He went 3-0 in Ivy League dual meets and ended the Eastern championships with victories over Ivy wrestlers in the semifinals and finals. Baughman rounded out the unanimous first-teamers, going 26-12 overall with a 5-0 mark in Ivy League duals. He won seven matches by fall, earned a number of victories against NCAA qualifiers and claimed a New York State title.

Furnas, Simaz, Honis and Scott each pocketed their first All-Ivy honors. Furnas was 17-11 overall and was 3-0 against Ivy foes while placing sixth at EIWAs. Simaz was 23-11 and went 4-1 against Ivy competition. Honis earned a spot at the NCAA championships with a third-place effort at EIWAs and finished the year with a 29-14 record, third on the team in victories. Scott fought off numerous injuries to go 11-7 overall and 3-1 in Ivy competition, including a win over the unanimous first-team selection Garrett Ryan of Columbia.

All of this was led by Rob Koll, who took the conference's top coaching honor for the third straight season. He led the Big Red to a 13-2 overall mark and a seventh-place finish in the NWCA Coaches Poll. The all-time winningest wrestling coach in program history, Koll has guided the Big Red to 15 straight unbeaten Ivy League season (18 championships overall), 11 consecutive EIWA crowns and eight top five NCAA team finishes, including second twice (2010, 2011). He was the 2005 NWCA Division I Coach of the Year and the Dan Gable Coach of the Year. Koll's wrestlers have won 14 national titles with 59 All-Americans and 55 individual EIWA champions.

Dean, Realbuto, Womack, Honis, Dylan Palacio (157 pounds) and Mark Grey (133 pounds) will compete at the 2017 NCAA Championships in Saint Louis, Mo., beginning on Thursday.


*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Sr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)

*Matthew Kolodzik, Princeton (Fr., 141 – Bellbrook, Ohio)

Rob Koll, Cornell 
Chris Ayres, Princeton

*Noah Baughman, Cornell (Fr., 125 – Doylestown, Ohio)
*Pat D'Arcy, Princeton (So., 133 – Galloway, N.J.)
*Matthew Kolodzik, Princeton (Fr., 141 – Bellbrook, Ohio)
*Jordan Laster, Princeton (Sr., 149 – Bolingbrook, Ill.)
Mike D'Angelo, Princeton (So., 157 – Commack, N.Y.)
*Brandon Womack, Cornell (So., 165 – Scottsboro, Ala.)
*Brian Realbuto, Cornell (Sr., 174 – Somers, N.Y.)
*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Sr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)
Frank Mattiace, Penn (Sr., 197 – Montville, N.J.)
*Garrett Ryan, Columbia (Jr., 285 – Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Ty Agaisse, Princeton (125)
Jimmy Pawelski, Brown (Fr., 133 – Park Ridge, Ill.)
AJ Jaffe, Harvard (Fr., 141 – St. Charles, Ill.)
Jonathan Furnas, Cornell (So., 149 – Powell, Ohio)
Hunter Ladnier, Harvard (Fr., 149 – Rocky River, Ohio)
May Bethea, Penn (Jr., 157 – Trenton, N.J.)
Ty White, Columbia (Jr., 165 – North Bomoseen, Vt.)
Casey Kent, Penn (Sr., 174 – Norristown, Pa.)
CJ Lafragola, Brown (So., 184 – Little Egg Harbor, N.J.)
Brett Harner, Princeton (Sr., 197 – Norristown, Pa.)
Ray O'Donnell, Princeton (Sr., 285 – Bethlehem, Pa.)

Trey Keeley, Brown (Fr., 125 – Washington, Ill.)
Carl Antrassian, Penn (Fr., 133 – La Salle, Mich.)
Jacob Macalolooy, Columbia (Jr., 141 – Union City, Calif.)
Taylor Simaz, Cornell (Sr., 157 – Fennville, Mich.)
Jon Viruet, Brown (So., 165 – Springfield, Mass.)
Jonathan Schleifer, Princeton (Jr., 174 – East Brunswick, N.J.)
Joe Heyob, Penn (Jr., 184 - Cincinnati)
Ben Honis, Cornell (So., 197 – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Craig Scott, Cornell (Sr., 285 – Palmyra, N.Y.)