skip navigation

High School at the Grapple: Wantagh, Suffolk, Team NJ Win Star-Studded Events

By BV, 11/28/16, 2:15PM EST


The results from the college action at the Grapple at the Garden over the weekend are at this LINK.  But there was also high quality high school wrestling at the World's Most Famous Arena on Sunday, including an individual tournament that featured some of the top teams in the state; a Nassau vs. Suffolk dual and a New York vs. New Jersey All-Star meet (featuring competitors from the Section 8 vs. Section 11 event). 

See below for more details.

X-Athletic 3rd Annual New York vs. New Jersey All-Star Match 

In the third annual X-Athletic New York vs. New Jersey All-Star Match, the squad from the Garden State came out on top, winning 9 of the 16 bouts.

Earning bonus points for New Jersey were nationally-ranked Nick Raimo and Kyle Cochran with technical falls. In addition, Mitch Polito and Brian McLaughlin registered major decisions.

For New York, national #1 Vito Arujau of Syosset earned a major, as did 2016 state runner up Dylan Ryder of Half Hollow Hills West. Also getting their hand raised for the Empire State were Zach Redding (Eastport-South Manor), Chris Gomez (Patchogue-Medford), three-time state champ Jacori Teemer (Long Beach), NYS gold medalist Terron Robinson (Walt Whitman) and Deonte Wilson (Amityville). 



99 Pounds: Zach Redding (Eastport-South Manor, NY) dec Luke Hoerle (NJ), 3-0

106 Pounds: Dylan Ryder (Half Hollow Hills West, NY) maj Michael Reardon (NJ), 10-0

113 Pounds: Mitch Polito (NJ) maj Sal Jones (Long Island Lutheran, NY),  11 - 3 

120 Pounds: Connor O’Neil (NJ) dec Adam Busiello (Eastport-South Manor, NY), 4 - 1 

126 Pounds: Nick Raimo (NJ) tech fall Joe Simons (Farmingdale, NY), 23 - 7 

126 Pounds: Chris Scorese (NJ) dec Jon Gomez (Locust Valley, NY), 4 - 2 

132 Pounds: Chris Gomez (Patchogue-Medford, NY) dec Craig Manno (NJ), 5 - 1 

138 Pounds: Vito Arujau (Syosset, NY) maj John Berger (NJ), 13 - 5 

145 Pounds: Jacori Teemer (Long Beach, NY) dec Nick Santos (NJ), 3-2

152 Pounds: Mike O’Malley (NJ) dec Peter Pappas (Plainview, NY), 7 - 3 

160 Pounds: Kyle Cochran (NJ) tech fall Tyrese Byron (Long Beach, NY), 16 - 1 

170 Pounds: Dom Mandarino (NJ) dec Zach Ancewicz (John Glenn, NY), 4 - 2 

182 Pounds: Brian McLaughlin (NJ) maj James Hoeg (Mattituck, NY), 9 - 1 

195 Pounds: Brandon Kui (NJ) dec Tanner Zagarino (Mattituck, NY),  8 -1 

220 Pounds: Terron Robinson (Walt Whitman, NY) dec Sean O’Malley (NJ), 9 - 3 

285 Pounds: Deonte Wilson (Amityville, NY) dec Brian Siddle (NJ), 6 - 1 


Thank you to Gary Redding for the results!

X-Athletic 3rd Annual Nassau vs. Suffolk All-Star Match 

The squads evenly split 16 matches in the 3rd Annual Nassau vs. Suffolk All-Star Match, however, bonus points led Section 11 to the victory. Recording pins for the winning Suffolk team were Zach Redding and Adam Busiello of Eastport-South Manor, Tanner Zagarino of Mattituck and Deonte Wilson of Amityville. 

On the Nassau side, Joe Simons of Farmingdale pinned two-time All-State wrestler Anthony Cirillo, while three-time state champ Vito Arujau of Syosset also earned a fall. NYS gold medalist Jon Gomez of Locust Valley and Peter Pappas of Plainview also picked up bonus points.



99 Pounds: Zach Redding (Eastport-South Manor, Suffolk) fall Matt Mustakis (East Meadow, Nassau), 1:06 

113 Pounds: Sal Jones (Long Island Lutheran, Nassau) dec Anthony Sciotto (Rocky Point, Suffolk), 10 – 8 SV

120 Pounds: Adam Busiello (Eastport-South Manor, Suffolk) fall Kevin DePalma (Farmingdale, Nassau), 3:32 

126 Pounds: Joe Simons (Farmingdale, Nassau) fall Anthony Cirillo (Rocky Point, Suffolk), 2:14 

126 Pounds: Jon Gomez (Locust Valley, Nassau) tech fall Vin Miceli (Port Jefferson, Suffolk), 18 - 3 

138 Pounds: Vito Arujua (Syosset, Nassau) fall Erik Shrek (Miller Place, Suffolk), 3:39 

145 Pounds: Jacori Teemer (Long Beach, Nassau) dec Phil Spadafora (Half Hollow Hills East, Suffolk), 3-2 

152 Pounds: David Miele (North Babylon, Suffolk) dec Matt Swanson (Lynbrook, Nassau),  6-4 

152 Pounds: Peter Pappas (Plainview, Nassau) maj Billy Sims (Lindenhurst, Suffolk) , 11-3 

160 Pounds:Tyrese Byron (Long Beach, Nassau) dec Dylan Zabbara (Rocky Point, Suffolk), 10 - 3 

170 Pounds: Zach Ancewicz (John Glenn, Suffolk) dec Shawn Mosca (Carle Place/Wheatley, Nassau), 4 - 2 

182 Pounds: James Hoeg (Mattituck, Suffolk) dec Elijah Rodriguez (Long Beach, Nassau), 4 - 3 

195 Pounds: Tanner Zagarino (Mattituck, Suffolk) fall Joe Giorlando (Long Beach, Nassau), 1:14 

195 Pounds: Zach Kornberg (Lynbrook, Nassau) dec Matt DeFrancis (Eastport-South Manor, Suffolk),  4 - 2 

220 Pounds: Terron Robinson (Walt Whitman, Suffolk) dec Zach Ward (Uniondale, Nassau), 2-1 

285 Pounds: Deonte Wilson (Amityville, Suffolk) pin Jeffrey Alvarez (Long Beach, Nassau), :46


Thank you to Gary Redding for the results!


Wantagh took first place with six champions, a runner up and six third place finishers, while Long Beach notched the runner up spot in the standings after nine Marines made the finals (six champs, three silver medalists).  Long Beach also had a bronze placer.  Monsignor Farrell grabbed the third position with 10 wrestlers taking top three slots (three first, three second and four third).

A few NYS qualifiers were defeated, as three-time state champ Jacori Teemer wrestled up a few weights and took second in an overtime match against Steven Isaac of Monsignor Farrell at 145. Jonathan Loew of Wantagh topped qualifier Charlie Spada of Long Beach, 5-0 in the title bout at 160, while Jeffrey Alvarez of Long Beach bested Fargo All-American Jayson Gomez of Eagle Academy for the heavyweight crown.

For more, see below.



Championship: Josiah Encarnacion (Wantagh) over Brady Bushey (Peru)

3rd: Max Ebanks (Monsignor Farrell)



Championship: Terry Adams (Monsignor Farrell) over Alijah Seymour (Peru)

3rd: Aidan Aaroz (Wantagh)



Championship: Christian Encarnacion (Wantagh) over James Ryan (Monsignor Farrell)

3rd: Anthony Ferrara (Brooklyn Tech)



Championship: Charles Maier (Wantagh) over Nicholas O'Byrne (Monsignor Farrell)

3rd: Max Maquet (Long Beach)



Championship: Justin Vines (Wantagh) over Matthew Mina (Brooklyn Tech)

3rd: Kyle Schairer (Wantagh)



Championship: Michael Killard (Wantagh) over Zacc Romero (Brooklyn Tech)

3rd: Joe Russo (Wantagh)



Championship: Matt Maquet (Long Beach) over Robert Scopelletti (Monsignor Farrell)

3rd: Nick Errico (Wantagh)



Championship: Steven Isaac (Monsignor Farrell) over Jacori Teemer (Long Beach)

3rd: Colin Hogan (Peru)



Championship: Tyrese Byron (Long Beach) over Demitreus Henry (Grand Street)

3rd: Vincent Ndokaj (Monsignor Farrell)



Championship: Jonathan Loew (Wantagh) over Charlie Spada (Long Beach)

3rd: James Langan (Wantagh)



Championship: Brandon DeVivio (Long Beach) over Serjey Thomas (Eagle Academy)

3rd: David Flynn (Monsignor Farrell)



Championship: Steven Roberts (Monsignor Farrell) over Mike Hayes (Peru)

3rd: Gabe Rios (Brooklyn Tech)



Championship: Elijah Rodriguez (Long Beach) over Joe Giorlando (Long Beach)

3rd: Nick Coppola (Wantagh)



Championship: Mark Rivera (Long Beach) over Larry Baker (Wantagh)

3rd: Cole McKee (Peru)



Championship: Jeffrey Alvarez (Long Beach) over Jayson Gomez (Eagle Academy)

3rd: Nick Romanello (Monsignor Farrell)