skip navigation

Arujau, Busiello, DePrez Win Super 32 Championships

By BV, 10/16/16, 5:30PM EDT


See Who Else Placed from NY

A Look at New York Finalists

For the second straight year, Adam Busiello picked up a high school championship at the Super 32.  The Eastport-South Manor star got on the board first with a takedown with less than 10 seconds remaining in the opening stanza of the gold medal bout against New Jersey's Robert Howard.  Busiello added to his lead with a pair of near fall points, as he controlled the second period from the top position to take a 4-0 advantage to the third.  The multi-time NYS champ tacked on an escape in the final period and went on to win 5-2.

Vito Arujau of Syosset was third at this event a year ago, but this time he won it all with a dominant performance at 132 pounds. The Cadet World silver medalist topped Ohio's Mitch Moore, 11-4, in the championship contest. Arujau notched a takedown in the first and rode out the period before leaving the second with a 6-1 advantage. In the action-packed third, Arujau added to his total, including back points, to earn his Super 32 belt.

Louie DePrez of Hilton made it three champions from New York with a title at 182 pounds. After nabbing silver at 170 pounds at this event in 2015, DePrez blanked Nino Bonaccorsi of Pennsylvania, 6-0. DePrez went ahead 5-0 after the first with a TD and near fall and never looked back.

Also making the finals for the Empire State was DePrez's Hilton teammate Greg Diakomihalis, a state champion last year as an eighth grader.  The Section 5 standout faced Antonio Lorenzo of California in the 106 pound title bout. After a scoreless first period, in which Diakomihalis nearly had a takedown on the edge, the wrestler from the Golden State rode out the second to keep the score 0-0. In the third, Lorenzo escaped and that was the difference in a 1-0 contest.

To see which other New York wrestlers placed, read on below.

For more on the Middle School and Youth events at Super 32, see this link.

New York Placers

106: Greg Diakomihalis (Hilton) - 2nd

113: Adam Busiello (Eastport-South Manor) -  Champion

126: Jacori Teemer (Long Beach) - 3rd

132: Vito Arujau (Syosset) -  Champion

138: Jake Silverstein (Hauppauge) - 7th 

145: Peter Pappas (Plainview) - 8th

182: Louie DePrez (Hilton) -  Champion

182: Kendall Elfstrum (Monroe Woodbury) - 7th

182: Cliffton Wang (Edgemont) - 8th



106 Antonio Lorenzo (CA) DEC Greg Diakomihalis (NY), 1-0

113 Adam Busiello (NY) DEC Robert Howard (NJ), 5-2

120 Patrick Glory (NJ) DEC Andrew Alirez (CO), 4-2

126 Joseph Silva (FL) DEC Austin Desanto (PA), 7-2

132 Vitali Arujau (NY) DEC Mitch Moore (OH), 11-4

138 Sammy Sasso (PA) MD Jakob Bergeland (MN), 15-1

145 Jarod Verkleeren (PA) DEC Josiah Rider (CO), 5-2

152 Brady Berge (MN) DEC Quentin Hovis (CA), 5-3

160 Kyle Cochran (NJ) DEC Emille dj Shannon (IL), 3-2 UTB

170 Bryce Rogers (FL) DEC Jake Allar (MN), 7-3

182 Louie Deprez (NY) DEC Nino Bonaccorsi (PA), 6-0

195 John Borst (VA) DEC Gavin Hoffman (PA), 4-3

220 Brian Kennerly (PA) DEC Cole Nye (PA), 5-4 UTB

285 Brendan Furman (PA) DEC Sammy DeSeriere (CO), 3-1

3rd Place Matches

106 Brandon Kaylor (WA) DEC Lucas Byrd (OH), 6-1

113 Patrick Mckee (MN) DEC Antonio Mininno (NJ), 4-3

120 Julian Chlebove (PA) DEC Jakob Camacho (CT), 4-2 SV

126 Jacori Teemer (NY) DEC Isaiah Perez (CA), 5-3 UTB

132 Brian Courtney (PA) DEC Breyden Bailey (IN), 4-2

138 Corey Shie (OH) F Grant Aronoff (FL), 0:29

145 Brayton Lee (IN) DEC Justin Ruffin (GA), 5-1

152 Stephan Glasgow (NJ) DEC Jaden Mattox (OH), 8-5

160 Trent Hidlay (PA) DEC Bradley Laughlin (IN), 3-1 SV

170 Ethan Smith (MD) DEC Bryan Mclaughlin (NJ), 6-4 SV

182 Drew Peck (PA) DEC Jelani Embree (MI), 2-1

195 Andrew Davison (IN) DEC Daniel gregory Kerkvliet (MN), 6-2

220 Ryan Vasbinder (MI) DEC Peter Acciardi (NJ), 6-0

285 Zach Muller (IL) F Mansur Abdul-malik (MD), 2:52

5th Place Matches

106 Ryan Chauvin (FL) DEC Elijah Varona (FL), 5-3

113 Logan Macri (PA) FOR Joseph Harrison (NE)

120 Joshua Saunders (MO) DEC Killian Cardinale (VA), 3-1

126 Alex Thomsen (IA) DEC Rylee Molitor (MN), 9-4

132 Devin Schwartzkopf (MO) DQ Zack Trampe (PA), 3:22

138 Ryan Vulakh (PA) DEC Colin Cronin (PA), 3-2

145 Connor Brady (OH) MD Joe Lee (IN), 11-3

152 Austin Oconnor (IL) DEC Hunter Willits (CO), 3-2

160 Christopher Foca (NJ) F Mekhi Lewis (NJ), 1:00

170 Myles Wilson (CO) FOR Anthony Mantanona (CA)

182 Khamari Whimper (TN) DEC Matthew Waddell (GA), 5-2

195 Brandon Whitman (MI) F Jacob Raschka (WI), 3:21

220 Eric Keosseian (NJ) DEC Joe Soreco (NJ), 3-1

285 Keaton Kluever (WI) DEC Michael Kramer (TN), 8-2

7th Place Matches

106 Logan Agin (OH) DEC Cody Craig (ME), 7-6

113 Benyamin Kamali (MI) DEC Matthew Cardello (OH), 5-3

120 Ryan Anderson (NJ) FOR Connor Mcgonagle (NH)

126 Kj Fenstermacher (PA) FOR Weston Diblasi (MO)

132 Grant Willits (CO) DEC Franco Valdes (FL), 6-2

138 Jake Silverstein (NY) DEC Jake Martinez (OH), 3-1

145 Joey Blumer (PA) DEC Peter Pappas (NY), 7-6

152 Erich Byelick (FL) DEC Nathan Atienza (MI), 4-1

160 Tristan Brady (OH) DEC Skitch Light (PA), 1-0

170 Emil Soehnlen (OH) F George Walton iii (NJ), 4:14

182 Kendall Elfstrum (NY) DEC Cliffton Wang (NY), 4-3

195 Jake Woodley (PA) MD Joseph Doyle (PA), 11-2

220 Diata Drayton (IL) DEC Jeffrey Allen (VA), 7-3

285 Blake Zalapi (IL) F Paul Robinson (GA), 1:53